Views
Helpful
Replies

PVST+ and RSTP

amit-singh
Level 8
Level 8

Hi All,

I am carrying a project where I and migrating lan for one of my customer using 3COM to Cisco. They are using 3Com 7700 as L3 and 4400 as L2 switch which all gets uplink to 7700.I have enabled PVST+ on my cisco 4506 and CST on 4400 amd its working as expected ( in lab env). Today I have enabled RSTP on 3COM 4400 (which is default) and I could see that my root bridge 4506 is still communicating with all the 3COM 4400 switches and working fine.

Question I have: Is PVST+ backward compatible with RSTP.

regards,

-amit singh

3 Replies 3

Francois Tallet
Level 7
Level 7

Hi Amit,

The answer to your question implies a combinaison of the two following requirements:

-1-the interaction of PVST (whether it is rapid pvst or not) and a pure IEEE bridge, only running one instance of the spanning tree - I guess that's what the 3com is, I have no experience of this device.

-2-the interaction between RSTP and STP.

-1- can be discussed. Cisco has always been running PVST+, and it seems that it is working correctly with most third party devices. There are some configurations that are not possible though, because we are running an IEEE STP on vlan 1 only (the root bridge for the other vlans are necessarily on a Cisco device for example). Anyway, I guess that if PVST was working with STP, then there should be no issue (again, my ignorance of the 3com is a problem, I guess this CST is STP)

-2-If RSTP on this 3com is the Rapid Spanning Tree of the IEEE, then yes, it is able to fall back in STP mode and interact with Cisco's PVST (again, on vlan 1). RSTP is backward compatible with STP.

The only way to get rid of PVST in a Cisco box is to run MST (and MST is also backward compatible to RSTP and STP).

Hope this helps,

Francois

Francois,

Thanks for the reply.