cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

setting up pix

carl_townshend
Spotlight
Spotlight

Hi all, Im new to using pix but I have managed to source one at home, a pix 501, I have a dsl internet connection on my cisco soho router, Can anyone please tell me simple steps in setting this pix up for internet access ?, configs and what needs plugging where would be helpful.

Thanks a million

Carlos

11 Replies 11

Patrick Laidlaw
Level 4
Level 4

carlos,

If its a brand new pix 501 it should already have a default config that will allow you to plug it into a dsl or cable modem that is issueing DHCP. It then should allow you to connect a pc on the inside lease a DHCP address from the pix and allow you access out.

To make any more changes you can either use pdm or cli. I recommend PDM for anyone not confortable with CLI. If you post your cli config I can tell you if its setup with the default config or not. For more information go to cisco's learning connection:

http://cisco.customerelearning.com/CECLMS/lang-en/management/TAX_Search.asp?UserMode=0&NodeID=0&SelectedNodeID=0&VSC=TAX_CiscomView_All&VSO=A&SearchNodeId=0&OrCategory=&SearchStr=&AdvType=2&FindBy=1&Delivery+Type=&Method=&Language=&LearnPartner=&Care...

or go to the pix area and look at the documentation on the right side:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/vpndevc/ps2030/

Patrick

jackko
Level 7
Level 7

the first question is whether you would prefer the public ip to be assigned on the router as before, or on the pix.

the pros to assign the public ip on the pix is that you will only need to play with a single device in the future, and you don't need to login to the soho for any change.; the cons is that a little bit more configuration needs to be completed.

personally, i would assign the public ip on the pix. it requires to re-configure the soho to run in bridging mode as opposed to the typical routing mode, and configure pppoe (optional) on the pix if required by the isp.