cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Switch buffering between Gigabit inbound, 10/100 outbound.

nialltodd
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all. This is my first post here so hello to everyone. I'm quite new to networking, just about to graduate but am currently on a year out from my degree, working in a LAN team on a large, multi-site Cisco network.

My question is this... Say, for example, I have a server connected to a switch in my network via Gigabit, and it needs to file transfer to another machine, connected to another switch in my network but running at 10 or 100, how does the 'receiving' switch cope with it? If the receiving switch has a gigabit uplink to the network so is receiving at that speed, how does it reliably control and transfer the switching of the conversation through the access level port which may only be transmitting at 10%, or even 1% of the speed the switch is receiving the information at??

Any explanations gratefully received.

Thanks, Niall.

2 Replies 2

scottmac
Level 10
Level 10

Remember that most of this kind of traffic is (usually) acknowledged at some level: the second packet / group of packets / segment(s) won't be sent until the receiving station has acknowledged the proper receipt of the first packet / group of packets / segment(s). With acknowledged / connection-oriented traffic, the sender is paced by the responses received by the receiver.

The speed / clocking differential is handled with buffers.

In the case of UDP traffic (unacknowledged) and no other hardware / layer one "flow control," the traffic that can't be handled / accepted will be dropped. The use of UDP assumes that a higher-level protocol or process will verify that the traffic was properly received ... tftp would be a good example.