cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Switched LAN subnet size

jeff.g.chaffin
Level 1
Level 1

I've been doing this for almost 20 years but I deal with dumb management and out-of-control user groups. I'm interested in CISCO DOCUMENTATION specifying LAN/Broadcast domain size guidelines. Please, no "opinions" I have enough of those.

Thanks!

6 Replies 6

donewald
Level 6
Level 6

Jeff,

Unfortunately you're going to get little but opinions on this question, since there are no hard fast numbers for BCAST domain size. You'll see certain docs like "how many OSPF routers can be in an area" are gone as well.. this is due to the fact that BCAST domain size or "why to implement VLANs" is entirely based on your network requirements (e.g. Security, etc) and traffic patterns. I've seen folks have 600 - 1600 users in one VLAN and work okay.. but I've seen others that have less than 100 have a faulty node (BCAST flooding) bring the entire BCAST domain to a stand still... So, I hope that this "opinion" does not sit to bad with you but the numbers you are looking for are not there... and if you find some they (numbers) are opinions as well.

Hope this helps,

Don

Don,

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, we can take all of these considerations into our planning but when dealing with others, some pretty crazy suggestions get way too much consideration. Cisco has some great "Best Practices" design document that we use for things like ISP and AVVID. There should be something as basic to reference.

Regards,

Jeff

Jeff,