Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

The 2621 route can't recognize the NAT IP address

-- *Cisco Moderator edited this post. All public IP addresses have been changed to nnn.yyy.zzz to mask the actual public network and configuration in this public forum. Please refrain from posting actual IP addresses to reduce security risks involved. --

I got a cisco 2621 router from our ISP last week, but I'm a beginner to Cisco system :-P .

I'm planning to use the NAT to connect our Intranet(172.16.5.X subnet) to Internet(we got 64 IP from my ISP, *nnn.yyy.zzz.64`127). My ISP setup a fiber cable from their router to another fiber switch(Catalyst 2900 XL) in our office, so this router should use a LAN port to link to fiber switch, and use the static route only(send all the package to *nnn.yyy.zzz.65) ,I created both static NAT and Dynamic NAT), but a problem came up when I tested the connection, the following are the config on our 2621 router:

-----------------------copy the config here-----------------------------

interface FastEthernet0/0 ----------linked to fiber switch will go to Internet

ip address *nnn.yyy.zzz.100 255.255.255.192

ip nat outside

no ip mroute-cache

speed auto

full-duplex

!

interface FastEthernet0/1 ------------------linked to the switch in our Intranet

ip address 172.16.5.1 255.255.255.0

ip nat inside

no ip mroute-cache

speed auto

full-duplex

!

ip default-gateway *nnn.yyy.zzz.65

ip nat pool global *nnn.yyy.zzz.111 *nnn.yyy.zzz.116 netmask 55.255.255.192 ip nat inside source list 1 pool global overload

ip nat inside source static 172.16.5.22 *nnn.yyy.zzz.101

ip nat inside source static 172.16.5.100 *nnn.yyy.zzz.124

ip classless