Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

THE Dumbest Question EVER...

Yup, here it is.

I just got a new title - it sounds great - wanna hear it?

Network Administrator, WAN & Security

Cool huh? I'm studying for the security part, but what exactly should I be doing on a daily basis to administer our WAN?? I guess I'm looking for some sort of 'best practices' resource.

Yeah, I fell into the position (obviously), but I'd prefer it if they didn't regret it in two months...

links, tips, any/all welcome.

Thanks folks!

=)

• Other Network Infrastructure Subjects
4 REPLIES
VIP Purple

Re: THE Dumbest Question EVER...

Hello,

I guess a good way to start would be to make an inventory of the equipment that is being used in your WAN and then get basic knowledge about the functionality of the equipment. Make a backup of the individual device configurations, in order to create a benchmark for a working environment. Usually in a WAN environment you are dealing with providers; I always found it extremely important to have good and accurate contact information of the providers, because 9 out of 10 times, if something goes wrong in the WAN, it is a fault caused by the provider.

I would also get familiar with the WAN technologies used in your WAN, here is a good link from Cisco:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk713/tech_topology_and_network_serv_and_protocol_suite_home.html

I would also start to make a drawing of the WAN, it is usually just easier to visualize when something goes wrong with a good drawing.