Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

To setup a Lan as a begginner

I am a Middleware programmer.I have a reasonable understanding of NW concepts.But I do not have practical experience of setting up one.As a part of my curricular, I have aproject which necessitates to do me that.Can anybody help me as to how I should begin ?Are there any web sites with free tutorials on this ? Please help it is very urgent.

7 REPLIES
Bronze

Re: To setup a Lan as a begginner

It depends on what you want to do. There are many components to a LAN...switches, VLANs, routers, etc. What are your goals for the LAN? What equipment do you have?

Basically to start with I have 35 hosts in a floor building of which one host is a Database server and the other is a mail server.All the incoming and outgoing mails of the office floor employees are handled by the Mail Server and day to day office transcations are managed by the Database server.First how should they form a network ? Second what are the necessary hardware products required and their specification and their cost ?

Bronze

If you only have 35 hosts on the network, a single 48 port switch should do. I don't know if there is Internet connectivity to consider and things like that, but if you just want 35 hosts on one network to be able to communicate with each other and to a DB and mail server...just get a 48 port Cisco Catalyst (like the 3550 or the 2950) and assign all the hosts to be on the same IP subnet. Something like 192.168.1.x 255.255.255.0

A 48 port 2950 switch is about $4500

A 48 port 3550 switch is about $5000

There are cheaper switches out there (3com, HP, etc.)

-HTH