Views
Helpful
Replies

Trunking over WAN

rpaolet
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

i'm studying a different solutions for my network topology.i'd like share the same lan in two different sites.

I use a catalyst 3550 and a router cisco 26XM for the WAN,and i create the vlans in the cat and after i make encapsulation 802.1q or ISL on the router.

How can i create a trunking between two router over WAN?

I'm thinking to use the bridge open on serial interface , so i dedicate the link only the transport for multi-vlan.

What do you think????

Regards

Roberto Paoletti

7 Replies 7

skarundi
Level 4
Level 4

Hi roberto,

To the best of my knowledge it is not possible to trunk across a WAN link.

I don't think bridging across the WAN is a good idea unless it is absolutely necessary.

Question: Why would you like to share the same lan in two different sites ?

Yes, as told above its better to have routing across WAN instead of bridging bcoz lot of unwanted traffic can flow over the WAN.Its better you have separate VTP domains for Cat switches at every site. You can use static/ dynamic routing to reach your vlans.

Hi,

i must share the same lan in two different sites, it's a migration of my central office.

I'm trying use encapsulation and bridging.

I known that the link WAN must be dedicate for transport , but it's not clear if works correctly with tagging.

I try and after i tell you....

Thanks for collaboration

Roberto

We are going through the same process. One office is moving and we need to keep the same addresses across both sites during the migration.

We moved one of our WAN routers and a core/distribution switch to the new site. An ATM PVC was added between the WAN router at the old and new site. Bridging has been configured over the PVC between spare FE interfaces on the routers. The router FE interfaces connect to switch interfaces configured as 802.1Q trunks. This was done yesterday with testing continueing today. So far so good.