Views
Helpful
Replies

VLANs and overflow DHCP

Armegeden
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

We have numerous VLAN's setup with the ip-helper address to tell them where to request DHCP from.

For certain VLAN's, we've had to put in a secondary network for when the first /27 fills up. The problem is that once the first /27 is filled, any new machine we plug in does NOT get DHCP, as in the VLAN is not using the Secondary range.

interface Vlan100

ip address 10.0.0.33 255.255.255.224 secondary

ip address 10.0.0.1 255.255.255.224

ip helper-address 10.0.0.254

That is an example of a VLAN with a secondary IP range. The first range fills up, but it does not flow into the second.

Am I missing a command? This is my first time doing something like this, so I apologize if it's completely obvious 8(

Or does the problem reside on the DHCP server side?

Any tips/advice greatly appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

ankurbhasin
Level 9
Level 9

Hi Armegeden,

I remember ethere was a command "ip dhcp smart-relay" on global config mode which enables the DHCP relay agent to automatically switch to secondary address pools.

Can you try this and update if it works.

Regards,

Ankur

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

ankurbhasin
Level 9
Level 9

Hi Armegeden,

I remember ethere was a command "ip dhcp smart-relay" on global config mode which enables the DHCP relay agent to automatically switch to secondary address pools.

Can you try this and update if it works.

Regards,

Ankur

Hi Friend,

I think it should work because by default the router will forward the DHCP broadcast received on Primary address inserting primary address in the giaddr field of the DHCP packet.

If the DHCP server has a scope or pool configured for the primary network, it will respond; otherwise it will not respond.