cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VLANs

rcarter1977
Level 1
Level 1

I have 2 3750 EMI switches that will be used as switch/routers to internally route and 3 3750 SMI switches.

If I want to setup VLANs, what are my options? Designate ports for certain Vlans ? Designate MAC addresses for certain Vlans?

I'm new to this so I would like some ideas as what are the best strategies for a new network.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
8 Replies 8

devang_etcom
Level 7
Level 7

are you looking for static and dynamic VLAN configuration???

Roberto Salazar
Level 8
Level 8

When setting up vlan, just think of it as each vlan in it's own subnet. you can segment based on physical locatio, for example, everyone on floor 10 would be in vlan 10 (network 10.1.1.0/24) or based on adminitrative dept, for example everyone in account payable would be in vlan 10 (net 10.1.1.0/24). Vlan is just a separate broadcast domain or a network entirely on it's own, in order for it to talk to other networks it has to go to it's default gateway which is a job for layer 3 in your case the 3750 running EMI. No matter how you decide to segment the vlan each port a user will be connected have to belong to a vlan, whatever vlan it maybe. When you ask about designate mac-address for certain vlan, I think you are inquiring about VMPS, you'll needs a VMPS server. 3750 cannot act as VMPS server, they can only be clients. However, you can use a feature called vlan assignment using dot1x, this will require ACS server to act as dot1x authenticator and it's get complicated and you'll need more hardware. Best thing to do, is simplify by deciding how you would want to segment the subnets/vlan.

Hope that helps.

Please rate helpful posts.

Thanks for the responses.

For example: I want to setup 3 VLANS on 1 floor. Call them Vlans 1,2,3 in locations 1,2,3 respectively.

Say a user moves from location 1(Vlan 1) to location 2(Vlan 2) but hes suppose to to be part of Vlan 1.