Views
Helpful
Replies

acl and asa???

jwallace
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to the pix and have a couple of questions reguarding acl's and the ASA.

1) I remember reading somewhere (can't find the link now) that each interface should have an acl. Wh

y would i need an acl on the inside interface if I'm allowing any connection to be started from the in

side to the outside and not allowing connections from the outside to the inside? I thought this was

the default, because of ASA??? If I should create an acl what should i use since the default behavior

is what i'm looking for?

2) I have seen many people mention adding a 'deny ip any any' at the end of each acl? Again, why, if

this is the default behavior?

3) Since the default is to allow anything from the inside to the outside, and this gives me the creeps

, is there a way to write an acl that will block all outbound traffic except what our security policy

says is allowed?

I know these are basic questions. I've been reading the cisco docs and posts here, but if there is an

other sources of information i would appreciate a link.

Thank you for your time,

wallace

2 Replies 2

mostiguy
Level 6
Level 6

1. Ideally you do not allow all inside users to create connections outbound - only allow what they need. The default for a pix is *no* acls enabled, as there is the implicit deny inbound and allow outbound ruleset.

2. This is to log everything, typically.

3. Absolutely. You can write an acl whose first line is permit ip any any, and then selectively block things from there, or you can just start permitting what you allow, and rely upon the default deny rule implicit in the end of an acl to clobber all that you do not want

l.mourits
Level 5
Level 5

Hi,

Here are the answers to your questions.

1) You only need an ACL if you want to change the default behaviour. If, in your case, you only want the default behaviour, there is no need for ACL's at all. You are right, ASA will take care of it.