Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Allow access to exchange server thru PIX 501

I am new to the PIX and need to allow a satellite office to access an inside exchange server via Outlook. E2k is currently sitting on my DC, which is on the internet. I want to pull the DC off of the internet, firewall it, and still provide email access to the satellite office.

Please help

19 REPLIES
Silver

Re: Allow access to exchange server thru PIX 501

What does the satellite office have for a firewall? Can we set up a vpn tunnel between the two? This would be the most secure solution to the problem at hand. You can also set up the pix as a remote access vpn, and deploy the cisco vpn client software. - this would be more work that a point to point vpn tunnel.

Both of the above solutions are much preferrable than opening ports to allow anyone on the internet to connect to your exchange server.

The satellite office is also using a PIX 501 for its firewall. I think that the original ideal was to set up a vpn tunnel between the two offices. What are the steps involved in setting up the point to point tunnel and allowing the satellite outlook clients to reach their email? Thanks

Silver

Sweet!

In a point to point vpn tunnel, *everything* (all ip network protocols) can go back and forth between the two networks, just as if there were a physical data circuit between them. Do you know if you have the 3des license key?

"sh ver" should tell you what license key you have , look for the vpn-3des line. You will need to have at least the des key installed. the des key is free from cisco. The 3des key for a 501 should be about $100US for each unit.