cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Allowing ping through pix to pix (501) vpn tunnel?

cbliayang
Level 1
Level 1

I have the tunnels up and running and was wondering if all ports are open via the tunnel? How to allow icmp traffic via the tunnel? and other ports if needed?

Thanks!

Che B.

6 Replies 6

jlimbo
Level 1
Level 1

You can use the match address access-list to control what is encrypted through the ipsec tunnel.

Refer to step 5 in the link below for an example of the match address ACL:

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/iaabu/pix/pix_sw/v_63/config/sit2site.htm#wp1009431

Hope that helps.

thanks for the reply! I'm still very new with this, i tried those statements and it didn't work, maybe i did it incorrectly? I'll post my configs here for you. This is for both PIX firewalls. Also, how do I enable SSH for remote management?

I've attached both configs for my PIX.

You just need to add: " management-access mgmt_if "

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/secursw/ps2120/products_command_reference_chapter09186a00801727ab.html#wp1137951

management-access

Enables access to an internal management interface on the firewall.

[no] management-access mgmt_if

show management-access

Syntax Description

mgmt_if

The name of the firewall interface to be used as the internal management interface.

Defaults

None.

Command Modes

The management-access mgmt_if command is available in configuration mode.

The show management-access is available in privileged mode.

Usage Guidelines

The management-access mgmt_if command enables you to define an internal management interface using the IP address of the firewall interface specified in mgmt_if. (The firewall interface names are defined by the nameif command and displayed in quotes, " ", in the show interface output.)