Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 806 & Client VPN

stefanbuchman
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I'm new to Cisco so a little help would be great.

I just purchased an Cisco 806 Broadband Router. I've added the Firewall/3Des IOS to this router.

Before the upgrade I was able to use the Cisco VPN client from a Windows PC to connect to my office.

After the IOS upgrade I can connect but can no longer receive packets after connecting.

If I go back to the IP IOS it all works fine... so I'm thinking it must be a rule or something...

Any Suggestions?

Thanks!

Stefan

9 Replies 9

srittenberg
Level 1
Level 1

I assume this is what happened if you have not configure the vpn on the 800 router in coordination with your PIX person at work. You were using VPN client software to connect to work, after install firewall feature on 800 router, you didn't establish the ipsec tunnel with the other end (office), either with the VPN 3000 concentrator or with PIX. you need to establish the ipsec tunnel, setup crypto ipsec policy, crypto map, preshare key, set peer...... all that.. You need to work with your security person at work to get the at the least transform-set and preshare key, and go from there. if you could create an ipsec tunnel with the office, you don't need to use the VPN client anymore.

does this help?

Thanks for the help... but what I'm trying to do is get the VPN client working again from a PC behind this router.

This seems to have something to do with the Firewall features added by the IOS.

Any other tips?

so you didn't do anything on the router like crypto isakmp enable, and apply crypto may to the outside interface or apply any access-list? you just install the firewall feature set on the router and nothing else?

do show access-list; show crypto map ipsec transform-set, show crypto map, does it show it will negotiate: tunnel, and any transform set, and any isakmp policy applied to any interface?