cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco PIX 506 VPN help

fhodits
Level 1
Level 1

I can connect to my companies VPN. I am not able to browse anything on the network. I am able to ping everything on our internal network. I am new at configuring PIX VPN and I need to know what possiblly I have left out. I have done the following commands:

vpngroup <group_name> address-pool <pool_name>

vpngroup <group_name> dns-server <dns_ip_prim> [<dns_ip_sec>]

vpngroup <group_name> wins-server <wins_ip_prim> [<wins_ip_sec>]

vpngroup <group_name> default-domain <domain_name>

vpngroup <group_name> idle-time <idle_seconds>

vpngroup <group_name> password <preshared_key>

What am I missing. We are running a WinNT Network.

Thanks.

8 Replies 8

fhodits
Level 1
Level 1

Update from post:

When I check the client when connected I don't see my internal network listed. Just 0.0.0.0 and the server IP address of the PIX.

Thanks

Just 0.0.0.0 means you are not using split-tunneling and letting whole traffic go via VPN to the network behind the PIX. This is normal.

Troubleshooting steps to check NT domain logon problems.

1. Check if you can ping the WINS server.

2. Check if you can ping the PDC.

3. Check if your client is attempting to register with the WINS server, using WINS manager. (Check WINS query and response happening on WINS server).

You might have to use a sniffer to check.

A related (non-VPN) sequence of events is described at:

http://www.cisco.com/warp/customer/110/pixnetbios.html#troubleshoot

From above URL: generally this is what happens.

Frames1-6 show the name registration process occurring between the client and the WINS server.

Frames 7-8 show the NetLogon process (the client looking for a DC) between the client and the WINS server.

Frames 9-11 show TCP session establishment.

Frame 12-13 show NetBIOS session establishment.

Frame 14-15 show the start of SMB negotiation and how the process continues and terminates when a user has finished accessing the resource.