cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CSA 4.0.3 Blocking Trend AV from updating

kcherry
Level 1
Level 1

I just started a new job and the company I work for wanted to implement the devices they purchased from Cisco for the "Self Defending Network". I have several years experience with Cisco gear and started with the CSA.

The problem I am having is that CSA 4.0.3 is using the trojan detection rules to stop the execution of Antivirus updates from Trend. I ran through the rules wizard to create an exception, but the CSA agent still prompts the user what they want to do. I don't want the user to be prompted when AV updates are installed, but I would like them to be prompted the rest of the time.

Any ideas?

Thanks

18 Replies 18

pmccubbin
Level 5
Level 5

Do you have a service contract with Cisco? If so, please update to a later version of software and quit trying to make a 2 year-old version of software do what your bosses want. It's simply just not worth the time and effort. I would also purchase the Cisco Press books by Chad Sulivan on the subject of CSA. They are money well spent.

Hope this helps.

I will check on the service contract with Cisco, I wasn't sure if a valid contract would allow for upgrades of CSA but if it does that would be a great help. Thanks for the reply.

Do you know if the two books by Chad Sulivan cover CSA MC 5.1?

I have now installed 5.1 and need a little help configuring the agents.

Thanks

Kevin

It looks like he used 4.5.X for his book "Advance Host Intrusion Prevention with CSA" based on the images in Chapter 9 found here:

http://searchsecurity.techtarget.com/searchSecurity/downloads/1587052520content9.pdf

Tom

tsteger1
Level 8
Level 8

We have a similar environment, Trend 7.3 and CSA 4.0.3-737.

4.5x and up already have Trend filesets so Paul is correct in suggesting a newer version (we're going to v5, just not yet...).

To address your immediate need...