cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Excellent management software?

matt-morris
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to my position and have been asked to find a network performance managment package for my company to use. I've searched around and found a few different solid offerings, but was really intrigued by a solution from BMC Software consisting of 2 tools. I found a free download of one of their solutions (www.bmc.com/solutions/network) and some pretty interesting white papers and online demos of the other...I was wondering if anyone out there is using these tools (apparently they're pretty new) and if not if one of you more seasoned veterans would download the trial and let me know what you think I'd certainly appreciate it.

Thanks -- Matt

4 Replies 4

herbert.ruth
Level 1
Level 1

You can try 'Whats up Gold" from IPSWITCH to monitor IP Networks.There is a trial version from the IPSWITCH website, and the licensed version only costs something like US$750 or so.

To monitor your WAN links you can try running MRTG. www.mrtg.org This is a freeware application that works extremely well to show bandwidth utilisation.

It was my understanding that What's Up Gold deals mostly in Fault Management...is this true? We're currently using HPOV, but don't have anything to measure the performance of the individual LAN devices.