Cisco Support Community
Community Member

Help with Radius server

I am a newbie for this matter and I really need your help ;)

I am working on a project to build ethernet connections for offices in high-rise buildings.

The project uses point to multipoint broadband wireless access to carry data transmission from the base station (where the ISP is) to the subscriber sites.

Currently my plan is to use routers (cisco 2600 series) to segregate the bandwidth and switches to build vlans for each office/customer. (one port per customer)

The thing is how can i perform authentication for each customer at a central location ?. Thinking of radius server as the solution. If so what radius server should i use ? Is W2K with IAS sufficient to do the job ? And where should I put the radius server ? what are the physical configurations of those equipments. Can i disable the port when a user log out and enable it back when a user log in and authenticated ?

Community Member

Re: Help with Radius server

Cisco has a good access control server ( you might want to look at. Using VLANS and routers, I assume firewalling and security is not a big issue to you. You can use ACS to authenticate your users or you could just manually turn on/off the switch ports. It’s easy enough to do that, just telnet or browse to the switch. Authentication will give you the ability to do that on a per user basis and give you better accounting. Have you talked to your Cisco rep to help with your design? There are a lot of options and variables

Community Member

Re: Help with Radius server

This sounds like a pretty big project, and without very specific details, there are a few different ways that you could go with this. From what I understand, wireless will not be the point of entry i.e. the user will connect to the network over direct cat5, and wireless will exist at the distribution layer instead of the access layer.