cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IDS on RSPAN port

milan.kulik
Level 10
Level 10

I'm new in IDS. I'm planning an IDS installation in a topology requiring to connect an IDS sensor to a RSPAN destination port.

But my understanding is that when the RSPAN source and destination ports are configured as trunks all the frames coming to the IDS sensor are tagged with the same RSPAN VLAN ID.

I.e. the information from which VLAN the original frame comes is lost.

Is this info important for correct IDS working?

Thanks,

Milan

8 Replies 8

Not applicable

Even if this is what happens, you can still point out the specific PC by the Mac address right? This information will not be lost.

marcabal
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

The Cisco IDS does not use vlan ids during analysis.

The vlanids are only reported in the alarm and for sending TCP Resets to the right vlan.

So your alarms won't show the original vlan, and you can't use TCP Resets but the rest of the sensor will work just fine.

Thank you for the response. That's exactly what I expected.

But shall I still be able to configure blocking on router interfaces?

There is one thing I don't understand generally:

Is it possible to configure router subinterfaces as blocking interfaces on the router? And what about CAt3550 SVIs?

If yes, how does the IDS know which SVI to block based on the suspicious packet source/destination IP address?

Thanks,

Milan

But shall I still be able to configure blocking on router interfaces?

- Yes, you can still configure the sensor to do blocking with ACLs on router interfaces.

There is one thing I don't understand generally:

Is it possible to configure router subinterfaces as blocking interfaces on the router?