Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

isolating two networks on one machine

Hello, I am an engineer... but not a network engineer. In my laboratory, I have a number of devices, mostly running various versions of embedded windows. These are not computers per se, but they do communicate with a computer via ethernet using TCP/IP protocol. This works all well and good as this computer along with the variety of devices connected to it are on their own isolated network. However, I now have a need to also connect this computer to a corporate network. I am concerned about the possibility of access to my "non computer" devices from outside of my lab , and also concerned that my "non-computer" devices may adversely affect the enterprise network. Is there a way to allow this single computer to access both my lab network and the enterprise network simultaneously and yet to maintain isolation between the two nets? Is it sufficient to simply use two NICS? Do I need hardware firewalls? If so, what kind, how many? where would they reside in the two networks? Any and all help will be appreciated.

2 REPLIES

Re: isolating two networks on one machine

Hi

do clarify with the computer whether u need to have communication established between the ent n/w and the devices ??

or else you are planning to access both the ent n/w and the devices from the computer ??

regds

Re: isolating two networks on one machine