cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Need help with mapping drives using Cisco VPN client

tayloroil
Level 1
Level 1

Let me preface this by stating that I'm a newbie to using a VPN. Our Cisco PIX 506E was setup by a local contractor for the primary purpose of using Outlook Web Access, but now I want to setup a mapped drive on my laptop to my user directory on the office's NT 4.0 server. The contractor has instructed me to use the "Net Use" command. Sample syntax would be:

net use x: //servername/share \user:workgroup/myusername

I would then be prompted for a valid password since I did not include that in the above syntax for security reasons.

The PDC in the office is running Windows Server 2000 and the shared member servers run NT 4.0. If I try to map a drive on the PDC using the above syntax, I get the error "System error 67 has occurred. The network name cannot be found." If I try the same syntax for a member server, I get the error "System error 51 has occurred. The remote computer is not available."

By the way: I am running Windows 2000 Pro on my laptop, I can successfully connect to the PIX using Cisco's VPN client, it's a DES ipSec VPN, I can ping all servers on the network, I have administrator rights for the entire network.

Any help for this newbie would be greatly appreciated.

Barry

6 Replies 6

pcarter
Level 1
Level 1

A quick beginning step is to check your client. Open your client and select "Options" -> "Properties" Let us know if the client is using IPsec of TCP or UDP. Primarily, make sure the "Allow Local LAN Access" box is checked.

Hope it's as easy as that!

Patrick

Sorry for the delay in posting a response. I've been busy moving our network to new offices. I'll give your suggestion a try on Thursday, July 18 and let you know how it goes.

Barry

I just realized I can answer this question for you now. "Allow IPsec over UDP" and "Allow Local LAN Access" are checked on the client.

Barry