cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PIX 101 Troubleshooting

dyckhscr
Level 1
Level 1

Does anyone have any links or suggested reading for PIX troubleshooting techniques, methods, whatever?

I'm thinking of the scenarios where X phones up and says I can't Y anymore, it must be the firewall.

This would be for the CLI as a by the by, but pointers to the PDM side as well would be gratefully taken.

Many thanks

8 Replies 8

mpalardy
Level 3
Level 3

Thanks Mike, they are a good start.

Any more for anymore?

Depends... I'm not sure I caught it about phones in your previous message.

I'll take a chance pointing you to this URL regarding pix configuration examples:

http://cisco.com/en/US/customer/products/hw/vpndevc/ps2030/prod_configuration_examples_list.html#anchor16

Sorry, I was trying to be non-specific about it so that I'd get as wide a range of answers as possible.

My background is comms networking and we've recently been lumped with 2nd line support for outr firewalls. Now cyberguards, checkpoints, etc I'm fine with but the PIX is just a little greyer than most things. Configuring one in the first place I'm just ok with, but in reality troubleshooting connections, etc is what I guess I'm after.

My example was meant to point at that ....

The "show ?" command would be an initial point, where you'll get allowed commands.

PDM will also give statistics (up to 5 days ago) on the pix ressource. Also note pixes can be configured via PDM.

Thanks for the thought but the 'show ?' command is one I know about. The problem with that is if you don't know what the command does, you have to go and look it up and the cisco answer is not necessarily the easiest to follow.

I was more after, I guess, an abc of where to start, what to look at first, how to find what I'm looking for, etc ....

As a direct example - today we had a call requesting us to prove that a NAT translation for a printer is working. There are 80 of these NATs and only one was questionable.