Views
Helpful
Replies

PIX 501 as Web Server Firewall

admin_2
Level 3
Level 3

Hello,

At the suggestion of a colleague we purchased a PIX 501 firewall to protect our new Win2003 web server and UNIX/Oracle DB server.

I have never worked with firewalls before.

Our servers are located in a cage at the ISP and belong to us. There are only two servers providing the web site. I have read the documentation in the Getting Started book and it doesn't seem to answer my question.

We have 2 web sites with different IP numbers on our web server. Let's say 140.5.5.4 and 140.5.5.5. I understand that I will reassign the numbers to work with the firewall (192...) but I don't understand how the routers at the ISP will be able to route the requests for both web sites to the firewall when it has a single IP number, say 140.5.5.1?

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you, Jerry

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

rhugo
Level 3
Level 3

Jerry,

what you are referring to is called port redirection. Say you have a PIX that has a static public IP address of 12.1.1.1 and your web servers are 12.1.1.2 and 12.1.1.3 respectively. Port redirection is really a 2-step process:

* a static translation of the public IP address of the PIX (12.1.1.1) to the address of the web server (12.1.1.2) ....

static (inside, outside) tcp 12.1.1.1 www 12.1.1.2 www netmask 255.255.255.255 0 0

* a conduit statement that basically states "any web requests should be allowed in on the PIX outside interface".....

conduit permit tcp host 12.1.1.1 eq www any

Here is a link that will help to clarify this:

www.cisco.com/warp/customer/707/28.html

This should get you started. As far as the basic configuration, there should be config examples on the Cisco site, if you have CCO access.

Let me know if this helps.

Rob H.

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

r-lemaster
Level 1
Level 1

The 501 is not an appropriate firewall for your environment because of it's licensing and form factor. Consider a 515.