Views
Helpful
Replies

Pix 501 port forwarding and failing over

mohammad10
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I have am a complete beginner with the pix 501 box. We currenty have two sites running a vpn via the pix 501 boxes.

Firstly, our internet connection goes down appox every 2 hours, the only way restablish the internet connection is to reboot the pix and within a few seconds the internet connection is back up. I have no idea why this is being caused.

Secondly we at present use pop3 for our mail, provided by our isp. We are in the process of installing exchange 2003 at our office, along with OWA, so what do i need to do in terms of the Pix config.

Thanks for all your help

MO

18 Replies 18

jmia
Level 7
Level 7

Mo,

Firstly, do you know which license version you have on your pix 501? As this may be causing the internet connection problem, to find out which license you have on your pix, you can issue:

sho ver

The above command will display the licensing details on your pix. The 501 models have three different licensing modes i.e.

10 user license

50 user license

Unlimited user license

Now, for configuring the pix for email, you’ll need the following configured (as an example), in config mode:

access-list smtp permit tcp any host 209.164.3.5 eq smtp

access-group smtp in interface outside

static (inside,outside) tcp 209.164.3.5 smtp smtp netmask 255.255.255.255 0 0

The IP 209.164.3.5 is the public IP for email, this IP should correspond to you email MX record, i.e. the MX record for your domain should point to this IP.

Save with command: write mem and also issue: clear xlate

For OWA access, you’ll need to configure the following (I’ll include the above configuration for SMTP):

access-list smtp permit tcp any host 209.164.3.5 eq smtp

access-list smtp permit tcp any host 209.164.3.6 eq https

static (inside,outside) tcp 209.164.3.5 smtp smtp netmask 255.255.255.255 0 0

static (inside,outside) tcp 209.164.3.6 https https netmask 255.255.255.255 0 0