cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PIX 501 VPN setup help

dayron
Level 1
Level 1

I am trying to set up a VPN for my comapny so we can replicate our SQL db to an affiliate company. I am new to the VPN arena. The affiliate recommended the PIX 501(they use a PIX 515). I now have the 501 and now I'm wondering if this was the right equipment. Here is my current network setup:

OUTSIDE (legit IP address)

Cisco 1700 router (managed by our ISP. Want's to charge $400 a month to manage our VPN), with NAT enabled.

INSIDE (NAT)

192.168.11.1(inside of the router) -254

MS SQL 7.0 server, Exchange server, File-Print server, XP clients

I have assigned the PIX 501 'outside' port 192.168.11.9. I did not plan to use the 'inside' interface. I have had my ISP assign a legitimate IP address to the VPN NAT address. What ports do I need to have opened for the VPN to function?

I basically want all my network to continue using the 1700 router as the default gateway. I want the VPN to be established to the afiliate company and have the SQL server use the VPN for replication and possibly have a few remote users connect into our network via VPN.

Could someone help me with A) Is the 501 the right box for this, and B) configuration considerations I may have overlooked? Do I have to add a second NIC and connect the SQL server to the inside interface of the 501?

Thanks!

3 Replies 3

p.krane
Level 3
Level 3