Views
Helpful
Replies

PIX - to - PIX : crypto-map pushing all traffic to tunnel

jpittman
Level 1
Level 1

Good morning:

This is my first time attempting to build a PIX to PIX VPN and I'm having the following issue when i paste my config into the host (a 525, 6.2.1).

The issue:

After pasting the config below into the Host PIX, i'm unable to reach any network through the outisde interface (networks not covered by the crypto acl). It seems that all traffic, trying to browse www.cisco.com for example, is being pushed into the IPSec tunnel.

My question is, why? What am I missing? I thought that the crypto acl only pushed traffic that matches its permit statement(s) into the tunnel, correct?

Removing the crypto map configurations immediately restores "normal" traffic patterns.

The new VPN config section:

access-list 101 permit ip a.a.a.a 255.255.255.0 b.b.b.b 255.255.255.0

access-list 102 permit ip a.a.a.a 255.255.255.0 b.b.b.b 255.255.255.0

nat (inside) 0 access-list 102

sysopt connection permit-ipsec

crypto ipsec transform-set PIX01 esp-3des

crypto map VPN 10 ipsec-isakmp

crypto map VPN 10 match address <acl 101>

crypto map VPN 10 set transform-set PIX01

crypto map VPN 10 set peer <peer IP address>

crytpo map VPN interface outside

isakmp enable outside

isakmp key <key string> address <outside int of peer> netmask <mask>

isakmp policy 10 authentication pre-share

isakmp policy 10 encryption 3des

isakmp policy 10 hash sha

isakmp policy 10 group 2

isakmp policy 10 lifetime 86400

Obvisouly, the Host is a pre-existing firewall and has had extensive configuration already. If anyone wants to see, i can post that after modifications.

I'm interested in reading any/all thoughts and comments.

Thanks,

Jason

5 Replies 5

mnaveen
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Jason,