Views
Helpful
Replies

PIX xlate logging

priedman1
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

We have a PIX-525 running 6.3.5 that is configured for our DMZ & Internet firewall.

e0 = Internet

e1 = DMZ

e2 = LAN

We have a number of static NATs configured for public facing servers and a PAT address for user Internet traffic.

I've been asked to find which internal hosts are consuming the most bandwidth on our network. I checked and it doesn't look like the PIX supports netflow.

Is there a way that I can export the "show xlate" output to a file and sort so as to find which host is being translated the most?

I read a post somewhere about turning logging up on the pix to informational and then review the syslogs for translations/connections being built. Not sure how that may work.

Is there a better way to do this? I'd like to script something if possible but have to admit I'm a noob when it comes to running/writing scripts.

Thanks for the help.

Pete

7 Replies 7

Collin Clark
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Pete-

You could do that, but it would be very time consuming. Netflow is the best way to monitor per IP usage. Do you have a router in the inside of your network?

Hi Collin.

Thanks for your reply.

We have a Cat6500 (which serves as our core switch) that is connected to this PIX-525. I'm currently using Plixer's Scrutinizer to monitor this switch and see the traffic.

This has shown to be helpful but I figured monitoring the firewall traffic would be the best place to see what's going on.

I also just tried turning up these syslog IDs so my syslog server would see connection setup/teardown info:

logging message 302009 level 4

logging message 302010 level 4

logging message 302013 level 4

logging message 302014 level 4

logging message 302015 level 4

logging message 302016 level 4

logging message 305010 level 4

logging message 305011 level 4

logging message 609001 level 4

logging message 609002 level 4