cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

question about PKI

west33637
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all. I am relatively new to the security arena and have a very nagging issue with understanding how certificates work. I have read several different books over the course of 10 years and I just get more frustrated every time I revisit this topic.

My question is can someone walk me through a home user visiting a secure website and what occurs with the CA and how encryption/decryption is achieved. To be more specific, please read my understanding below and my more specific questions.

Here is the best of my understanding - The clients web browser keeps a bunch of root CAs. (Trusted CAs). When the client requests a secure website, the website sends its digitally signed certificate with the CAs public key. The clients web browser uses the public key of one of the root CAs to verify this digitally signed certificate. Now the websites digital certicate has been verified. What happens next?

To give a further example - I visit https://www.bellsouth.com/ . It says the connection to this server is encrypted. I believe what happens is it sends me that web page over the Internet all garbled up (encrypted) and then when it arrives at my PC I see clear readable text. At what point does this web page get decrypted so that I, the client, can see the content of the the web page returned. Does this happen as soon as my web browser uses one of its trusted CAs public key to verify the servers digitally signed certificate? Does the client web browser require a private key to decrypt this web page and display it in clear text?

Thanks a million!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

You should think the master key as a key that is changed every time. It is an arbitrary key that is chosen by the client and used for the AES encryption by both units. It changes every time.

Please mark this as answered if it is or let us know if there are still concerns.

PK

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6