Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sig Updates grrr!

Hi All,

I have only recenty upgraded my ids(4210) to 4.0(1)S37, and i am new to version 4.

I am having a problem upgrading, when i try and use the upgrade command the following happens,

ciscoids(config)# upgrade scp://

User: ids

Server's IP Address: 172.21.2.11

Port[22]:

File name: updates/auto/IDS-sig-4.0-2-S47.rpm.pkg

Password: *********

Warning: Executing this command will apply a signature update to the application partition.

Continue with upgrade? : yes

Error: download file does not exist: /usr/cids/idsRoot/var/updates/IDS-sig-4.0-2-S47.rpm.pkg

I have tried use relative and absolute paths, and just about everything else i can think of, ftp isnt an option :(

It appears that the ids is not scp'ing the file, i can see it logging on the signature server, but the file never arrives on the IDS.

I have tried to copy the file to /usr/cids/idsRoot/var/updates/

but then it complains,

Error: signature was not valid (time warp or clock problem)

I would rather have this working properly, as opposed to cludging it, by copying signatures to /usr/cids/idsRoot/var/updates/

Anybody have any ideas, i am beginning to get desperate.

Thanks,

Tony

8 REPLIES
Cisco Employee

Re: Sig Updates grrr!

Did you configure the ssh host key?

conf t

ssh host 172.21.2.11

Have you tried, issuing the full URL cli command?

upgrade scp://ids@172.21.2.11/updates/auto/IDS-sig-4.0-2-S47.rpm.pkg

If the problem still occurs, then I would like to get more info. Can you create a service account on the sensor and issue the following commands:

su (become root)

cd /usr/cids/idsRoot/var/update

scp -oProtocol=1 -P 22 ids@172.21.2.11:/updates/auto/IDS-sig-4.0-2-S47.rpm.pkg

( if the file is downloaded then remove it)

Let me know if you see any errors from scp.

Ah, ssh host-key - Doh!

but when i add the key i get the error

Error: Unsupported remote protocol version (2.0)