cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Simple PIX question

abruso
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a PIX newbie, but I am trying to block 2 people from surfing the web.

These are the commands I tried:

access-list 105 deny tcp host <ip> any eq www

access-list 105 deny tcp host <ip> any eq www

access-group 105 in interface inside

After doing so, no one could surf the net. What stupid mistake am I making? Thanks.

8 Replies 8

bmuha
Level 1
Level 1

sorry for the dup

bmuha
Level 1
Level 1

try something like this

outbound deny 10.xxx.xxx.xxx 255.255.255.255 80 tcp

apply (if-name) outgoing_dest

--Brian

bjandersson
Level 1
Level 1

No one can surf the net because it’s an implicit entry at the end of your access-list which deny all traffic “deny ip any any” this is a standard behaviour for all access-list.

After denying traffic for certain host add an entry which allows traffic for the rest of the hosts.

access-list 105 deny tcp host any eq www

access-list 105 deny tcp host any eq www

access-list 105 permit ip any

access-group 105 in interface inside

-- Bjorn

Well the outbound commands didn't work, but the access-list 105 permit statement did the trick. I knew I had to do that on routers, but for some reason I thought the PIX didn't need the permit statement at the end.

Thanks for your help.

Abruso,

Normally, you wold not have to have a permit statement when inside users are initiating sessions to the outside, that is, if your securitylevels are configured correctly (default they are correct).