cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

super new, career change, help please!

bretthall
Level 1
Level 1

OK, I'm an ex-math/science teacher interested in changing careers to internet technology. I don't have any prior experience but I am good at learning new material. I am studying the beginning section for the CCNA certification. Is this the best route to employment. Are there any work as you learn positions. What would be the best method of entering this company/industry (i.e., acquire certification and then apply, get a different qualification to get started and get major certifications later, etc.)? I'd like to learn/do as much at my own pace as I can so I can move forward quickly. Any and all information, guidance, and assistance received regarding the above will be sincerely appreciated. Thank you very much for your help, Brett

3 Replies 3

chriyoun
Level 1
Level 1

Brett,

There is no correct answer for this one. You have both ends of the spectrum in this field. Those who study then do and those who learn by doing then study. My personal opinion is that there are probably more of the latter than the former, if for no other reason than the fact that many of us sort of grew up with networking, so to speak. There has not historically been, and only now is there starting to be, a formal education route for the networking profession. Personally, I would study as much as I could on my own while at the same time trying to find an employer who is willing to let you learn on the job while working through my certifications. Perhaps completing the CCNA first would give you a leg up in terms of getting in the door. In todays job market this shouldn't be too difficult to do.

Good luck and welcome aboard.

millerv
Level 1
Level 1

Keep after the CCNA, If anything it shows intent. Depending on your willingness to relocate, I think that a larger integrator will be your best opportunity to get the hands on piece.

maxoma
Level 1
Level 1