Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

VMS and CSM migration for free or reduced cost (act now) expires 4/2/07

I can't find the posting where there was a heated discussion regarding VMS and Cisco forcing users to BUY Cisco Security Managager (CSM).

I looked around and found a link to a trade-in program where users can get a free upgrade to CSM. Please post questions to this mail and I will answer. I am just a concerned Cisco Systems Engineer and not a marketing guy so bear with me as we find the answers together.

I am going to copy and paste the info and links.

---Copy paste----

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6498/prod_bulletin0900aecd803ffd79.html

Migration Options from CiscoWorks VPN/Security Management Solution

Cisco is not adding support for new features and new devices in CiscoWorks VPN/Security Management Solution (CiscoWorks VMS) after the release of Cisco Security Manager. Furthermore, support for devices such as Cisco ASA 5500 Series Adaptive Security Appliances is only be available with Cisco Security Manager. Customers that require provisioning for Cisco firewalls, VPNs, and IPSs will want to plan their migration to take advantage of significant enhancements in the new software.