Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN and Spanning Tree traffic

jsmaycotte
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm a kind of a novice in all this networking stuff, so I apologize if my question seems to "newbish."

Recently in the school I work in people began having problems sending their e-mails through Outlook. We began digging around and realized that only some VPNs in our network had that problem - the rest of them worked okay.

We then began sniffing those VPNs with Ethereal and realized that there is a lot, and by a lot I mean a LOT of Spanning Tree packets and some CDP and OSPF packets here and there.

This STP, CDP and OSPF traffic does not appear at all - okay, just one or two STP packets here and there, but very sporadic - in the other VPNs that are working okay, only in those affected.

For the moment we told our employees to up their server time out on Outlook from 1 minute to 5 minutes - since it usually takes around 2 minutes for the computer to make the SMTP connection :S

My first question is: aren't the STP packets only sent when there is a change in the topology? And how could I troubleshoot the VPNs to see the differences between one or another?

I must also add that I wasn't here when the networking infrastructure was setup, and the people who where here are long gone, so I don't have much information about the network.

We're working with a Catalyst 4006 as the core, with a Supervisor Engine II and Catalyst 3500XL as distribution and access switches.

Thanks in advance!

4 Replies 4

smahbub
Level 6
Level 6

STP: is a Layer 2 link management protocol that provides path redundancy while preventing loops in the network.