Views
Helpful
Replies

DSL,DSLAM...

cisred1983
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I am Redouane from algeria (MCP,A+,Network+2009 soon) , as i am studying networking some times i meet some issues ,

The question that i want to ask is : in the DSL connection i want to know if the DSLAM device that is found in the telco side to connect DSL subscribers to the internet trough an ISP is realy a Modem or it does just the multiplexing task ???????

If it's a modem then what do we call the CPE device that is at home to connect us to the internet ( DSL Modem or DSL Router) ??????

Note that when implementing DSL technology the telephone wire will be digital.

Thank's for help.

7 Replies 7

Ganesh Hariharan
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hello

I am Redouane from algeria (MCP,A+,Network+2009 soon) , as i am studying networking some times i meet some issues ,

The question that i want to ask is : in the DSL connection i want to know if the DSLAM device that is found in the telco side to connect DSL subscribers to the internet trough an ISP is realy a Modem or it does just the multiplexing task ???????

If it's a modem then what do we call the CPE device that is at home to connect us to the internet ( DSL Modem or DSL Router) ??????

Note that when implementing DSL technology the telephone wire will be digital.

Thank's for help.

Hi,

As per the defination of DSLAM is a equipment at the telephone company (telco) collects the data from its many modem ports and aggregates their voice and data traffic into one complex composite "signal" via multiplexing.It is a network device, located in the telephone exchanges of the service providers, that connects multiple customer Digital Subscriber Lines (DSLs) to a high-speed Internet backbone line using multiplexing techniques.

DSLAMs are generally flexible and able to support multiple types of DSL in a single central office, and different varieties of protocol and modulation -- both CAP and DMT.