cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Access Points not being associated with Controller

tfbicking
Level 1
Level 1

I have a 4400 series controller capable of 25 access points. I currently have 11 deployed and the controller is only seeing 10. Also if I have the need to reset a switch the AP is hanging from it can take days for the AP to find itself again, if it finds itself at all. Any Thoughts? I am new to this technology.

9 Replies 9

Aaron Harrison
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

Are you running your controller in Layer 2 or layer 3 mode?

Check that the native or access VLAN of the port you connect the AP to is in the same VLAN as the management interface of the controller. Try plugging a laptop into the same port and check you can ping the controller...

Regards

Aaron

Please rate helpful posts...

Aaron Please remember to rate helpful posts to identify useful responses, and mark 'Answered' if appropriate!

Scott Fella
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

DO you have one controller or multiple. When the AP is registered on the controller, make sure you configure the primary controller using the hostname and configure the secondary controller if you have another controller.

Is the AP and the Controller on the same subnet? If not, you might want to configure the switch port for the same vlan as the ap-manager and let the AP find the controller, then you can move it to a different subnet. Make sure you do not have a static IP configured though. Reset the AP if possible.

If you have issue with the AP registering with the controller right away especially on the same subnet, move the AP if possible to the same switch to stage the AP. If AP is mounted then maybe you have to troubleshoot connectivity from the switch port the ap is attached to, to the controller itself.

-Scott
*** Please rate helpful posts ***

Hi,