Views
Helpful
Replies

Air LAP 1131-AG-E-K9 conversion to autonomous

eddiemechling
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I work as a network administrator in a large public School since few months and I have to set up 12 AP Cisco.

I realized that the APs was LAP version. Can you confirm me that these AP can be convert to autonomous version, or do we have to buy a Wireless Controller ?

Model : AIR-LAP1131AG-E-K9

Lwapp image version 3.0.51.0

IOS : C1130-RCVK9W8-M, version 12.3(11) JX1

What IOs's version to download for Europe? I think there must be specifications of Radio power or Frequency for France.

Is the 12.4.21a-JA1(ED) version correct for France ?

Also I read somewhere that the APs must be running Cisco IOS Release 12.3(7)JA or earlier in order to convert the AP.  Is that right ? If so, can I use the 12.3.8-JEB(GD) or the 12.3.7-JA(ED) version?

I don't understand very well the Cisco product codename : JX stand for ...?

That's a lot of questions!

Thanks in advance for your responses, and sorry for my poor english language.

2 Replies 2

Surendra BG
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Eddie,

Q >> I realized that the APs was LAP version. Can you confirm me that these  AP can be convert to autonomous version, or do we have to buy a Wireless  Controller ?

ANS - Yes to use the LAPs you need to have the WLC.. if you do not have the WLC, then the option left is to either buy a WLC or to convert these and use them as Autonomous APs. yes the LAPs can be converted to autonomous.

Q>> What IOs's version to download for Europe? I think there must be specifications of Radio power or Frequency for France.

Is the 12.4.21a-JA1(ED) version correct for France ?

ANS -There is no relationship between the Firmware and the country code.. the Regulatory domain depends on the Model number.. AIR-LAP1131-AG-"E"-K9 the E here represents the country code..