cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Connecting 350 Bridge to 350 Workgroup bridge?

letnet
Level 1
Level 1

Can you connect a 350 Workgroup bridge as a client to a 350 bridge in Access Point mode?

The goals is to get connectivity to 4-5 stations at a distance of .75 mile without having to use two bridges - if possible. Was thinknig of using the AIR-ANT3549 antenna...

If not - is it truly possible in "real life" to use the 350 series bridge ion access point mode to connect directly to a client at that distance (with the AIR-ANT3549 antenna again...

- Ken

4 Replies 4

blue.modal
Level 1
Level 1

Why not use a 350 AP? Especially since you can get them for less than $650 now.

You can hit a client PC directly at .75 miles, but you may want to use LMC cards with antennas on the back of the monitor instead of PMC cards.

Matthew Wheeler

Hm...Thanks Matt!

A follow-up query...(I'm not an expert here so forgive any bad assumptions :-)

Max distance on a 350 access point is going to be about 700 feet with a directional antenna according to cisco docs - true? (Maybe not?) I'm at about 4000 - actually have another potentiall aplplication at about 8000 feet but that's a different issue... (I'm talking reasonably guaranteed connectivity from a corporate standpoint - not what would theoretically work if you fooled with it :-) I don't want to have to explain why i have to play with it every other week to get signal again - if possible :-)

**I should be able to use the same directional antenna on the workgroup bridge pointing back at the bridge and/or AP right?

bfults
Level 1
Level 1