Views
Helpful
Replies

External DHCP on WLC 5508 on both remote site (flexconnect) and local AP's

khan300
Level 1
Level 1

Dear Experts,

I will be  implementing the design as per the attached diagram. The two sites are around 500 meters apart and are connected through an access port ( not trunk). They cannot be put in trunk as the client will not allow us to.They are routed through EIGRP. Please refer to the diagram attached.

I thought of doing internal DHCP for both remote AP's (flexconnect) and local AP's but I read that internal DHCP servers are not supported when using HA AP SSO on the wlc 5508. Since I'll be using that, there is no point using internal DHCP's.

Now since I'm new to external DHCP connected to controllers, can you please advise me where and how to put the external dhcp's with their respective vlans for both flexconnect site(vlan 235) and local site (vlan203)? Please refer to the diagram to have a clear picture.

Also what configuration will I need to do on the WLC Controller GUI.

You help and assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Please do not hesitate to ask questions for clarification.

28 Replies 28

The remote sites should get the ip address from the dhcp pool vlan 235 defined on the core switch on the remote site, which will then communicate with the WLC ( which is in a different network connected accross an access port)

yeah you are totaly right. 

so i define the WLAN interface in the WLC. give it a name, port number 1 ( which is the same as management port).

Vlan Identifier ( 203 for one wlan and 235 for the remote wlan).

Ip address of the Wlan and netmask.

Gateway ( this should be IP address of the specific managment SVI defined on the core right ?, Management vlan is vlan 200 and the WLC's are also in the 200 vlan )

Primary DHCP Server ( This should be the IP address of the vlan 203 or 235 depending which WLAN being used?)

Sorry for being a complete newbie :D

you right,