Views
Helpful
Replies

Outdoor Installation and Configuration

steelinquisitor
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I just finished the site survey for my customer's POS devices. Before I started the site survey, I thought I would be doing mesh setup. Now, after the site survey, I realized that can't do mesh because of the hotel's building materials. Now, I have to pull cables from the LAN room to the outdoor APs.

The site is located in Florida and it is near the beach probably 100 or 150 yards away. I know there is going to be some corrossion issue because of the salt in the air.

I asked my POC if they are having issues with corrossion and he said yes. I also found some older indoor Cisco APs that are exposed to the salty air, and the metal mount is covered in rust. Therefore, I want to do this installation the right way since I am not local in Florida. I have no experience with outdoor installation at all.

1. For outdoor install, if I power on an AP using a PoE injector, is the grounding lug to the ground enough to protect the AP and the network devices in the LAN room from lightning?

2. Should I insert a gig fiber-optic to ethernet media converter at the AP side, and plug the AP to power outlet?

[LAN Room]------ethernet-------[media converter]----------1 meter fiber-optic----------[media converter]----------[AP]

3. If I tilt the Cisco 1530i 90 degrees, would I get an omni coverage?

4. If I tilt the Cisco 1530i 90 degrees, can I still use the shield cover to protect the AP from sun heat?

5. Based on your experience, what type of configuration do you do for POS devices (802.1X, PSK, etc)?

6. Is there a stringent security that should be used?

7. For my BOM, I should be good with WLC 2504 with 15 license AP. The APs are 2602i and 1530i. The total AP number is 12.

Link to the previous thread https://supportforums.cisco.com/message/4178513#4178513