Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Recomendations

Hello Dears,

there is a campus, and i need to make wireless survey, they want to cover with wireless connection their yard, streets near the buildings, some points too, so i have a question, they need indoor type of wireless access point ? or outdoor? as i know outdoor works only like bridge between two building for example,  im new in it, so i need your help, also if i will use indoor type ap, how can i protect them from rain and etc, also one question what is the maximum range of access point by default without any obstruction?

thank you

9 Replies 9

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

If you are new to this job then I'd recommend you DON'T do the wireless site survey.  Get someone to pay for it.

Indoor or outdoor doesn't make a difference.  Before you make the decision about which one of the two, answer the most basic question first:  HOW will the WAPs outside be connected (network and power) back to the network?

If you can't run cable back to the network then you need outdoor WAP.

The next question is this:  Will you run 802.11n wireless network? 

leolaohoo,

yes we are planning to use 802.11n wireless network in campus, now i understood that there is no difference between outdoor and indoor, also we are planning to use ethernet cables with PoE to connect outdoor ap

Do you have a wireless LAN controller?

Yes we are planning to use it, i just want to know what is the best cisco access point for Campus enviroment, i mean outdoor

For WAPs you have the options of the following: 1040, 1140, 3500 & 3600

For controllers, I'd recommend the 5508. If you have a 6500 the check out WiSM2.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPad App