Views
Helpful
Replies

WLAN Controller and LAP issue - change interfaces for LAG

dimensyssrl
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all.

I'm new to lap and wlc configurations, so I think I've made some errors in my implementation.

I've configured some SSIDD copied as is like old autonomous configuration, every one to a different interface/vlan configured on controller.

I've configured untagged "management" and "ap-manager" interfaces, both on native vlan and ip subnet.

All seems to work properly.

Now reading manual, I want to configure LAG, but this require only one untagged interface, so I've tagged management interface and changed its vlan and ip address.

I can reach controller on new ip address/vlan, but when I reload LAPs, they can't join controller anymore.

From consoles I've issued show capwap client config, and from output I can see:

Configured Switch 1 Addr 1.2.3.4

that point to old ip address, that it doesn't exist in controller configuration anymore...

If I reconfigure management interface with old address and old vlan, suddenly LAPs appear on controller...

How can I solve this problem?

I've tried to write erase config on ine LAP, but when it reload old ip appear yet...

Do I need to relaunch wizard on controller and configure it properly since beginning?

And a last question:

LAPs are connected on trunk ports on a catalyst switch, so they can redirect clients from different WLAN to different VLAN, but it obtain ip address on native untagged vlan.

If I want to address LAPs on a different, tagged, vlan, how can I obtain this?

Thanks

Daniele

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

you could change what VLAN the port the AP is plugged into, is in, and let it get a new DHCP address. Or if you want to go with static IP, once the AP is joined to the controller, change it's IP to be the static one of your choice, and make sure the switchport is in the correct VLAN.

HTH,
Steve