Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Community Member

WLC 4402 & 1131AG - "grouping" ap's for different radio standards?

Hi!

I've just bought a WLC 4402 Wireless controller and 20 APs running WLAPP.

I'm not sure how to define my question, so I'm serving you the whole story.

I work as an IT-apprentice on a school, and this school is located more or less nearby other institutions and private buildings, all running their private WLANs.

My plan is to deploy 1131AG ap's over a larger area. In some places, it's allready crowded with private ap's running on 802.11b/g. In those areas, my plan is to use only 802.11a for my ap's.

But some places, it would also be usefull having both, or only 802.11g (and maybe 802.11b).

I've just used the 4402 and ap's for about a week, so I'm no expert yet.

I can create different WLANS, and limit those wlans to different radio standards, but then I'll have to use different SSID's.

Now, i'm running two Wlans, sending out each their Vlan over two different SSID's. This works perfectly.

So my problem now is: how to make for instance a separate group of AP's (i.e. in a specific building) to run only on 802.11a without having to use a third SSID.

Is this possible, and if so, how?

Please awnser quickly, because I need this to work within monday :P

(I'm sorry for my bad english).

-John-

5 REPLIES
Hall of Fame Super Red

Re: WLC 4402 & 1131AG - "grouping" ap's for different radio stan

Hi John,

For the specified AP's why don't you set only the appropriate Data rates for the A Radio to enabled, and disabled for all the b/g Data rates?

Have a look;

Configuring Radio Data Rates