cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RV120W RDP Set Up Help

Dansoccer9
Level 1
Level 1

I just installed a Cisco RV120W to replace a Netgear FVS318G firewall/router that kept disconnecting.  I am not a network engineer (far from it) but I did have enough sense to copy the settings from the old firewall.  We have a server that we access remotely, but I cannot get the remote access to work on the new Cisco router.  I have created a custom RDP service as I saw on an existing post, but I cannot get to the server remotely (I do have a "TO" address on both forms below.  Any suggestions?

Add / Edit Port Forwarding Configuration
Service:
Action:
Select Schedule:
Source Users:
To:
Destination IP:
Forward to Port:
Port Number:(Range: 0 - 65535)
Log:

IPv4 Firewall Rules
Add / Edit Firewall Rule Configuration
From Zone:
To Zone:
Service:
Action:
Select Schedule:
Source Hosts:
To:
Destination Hosts:
To:
Log:
SNAT IP Type:
SNAT IP:
QoS Priority:
Send to Local Server (DNAT IP):
Port Forwarding:
Enable
Translate Port Number (DNAT Port):(Range: 0 - 65535)
Internet Destination:
Internet Destination IP:

8 Replies 8

klambert1218
Level 1
Level 1

Dan,

In theIPv4 Firewall RulesAdd / Edit Firewall Rule Configuration, I would look at the Actions section and change it from Always Block to Allow (as long as you have your To and From zones selected as being Trusted (LAN). In the Add / Edit Port Forwarding Configuration section, choose the RDP service you created. Make sure you choose not to always block that one, either. Select appropriate source users because if you don't, you will be allowing anyone to RDP to the server.

I still cannot get the RDP working and I am sure it is a simple fix, but darned if I can figure it out.  Here are the settings I have changed according to the way they were set up on the previous firewall.
Any help would be appreciated!
IPv4 Firewall Rules
Add / Edit Firewall Rule Configuration
From Zone:
To Zone:
Service:
Action:
Select Schedule:
Source Hosts:
To: