Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

5500 Wireless controller basic setup question

Hello.

I'm just learning about wireless networks and my company purchased a 5500 Wireless Controller.

The setup directions look pretty basic.

I can connect to it with a laptop using either the serial connection plgged into the "console port" or using a CAT5 cable plugged directly into the "service port"

I kept the service port 192.168.1.1

My laptop i made 192.168.1.2

I can access the gui with my laptop when it's plugged into the "service port"

I plug a Cat5 cable that is live on the network (I can browse the web with it so i know it's good) into the "console port"

That's where I messed up somewhere.

I can't ping the management address: 192,168,128.250 or log into it via https or http (which i have enabled)

Am I missing something basic?

I'm assuming that once the management port (console port) is working I can access the GUI from anywhere on my network.

Am I using the wrong port?

I've tried both.

Same result.

Just to review I can access the device via the "service port" with my laptop.

During the intial setup i gave the management interface the ip, mask and gateway.

I entered no dhcp info.

The port number for "management" is "1"

Any help would be appriciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

David,

Correct. The 8 ports are used to connect to your network. The service port is ONLY used in case you lose network access to the 8 ports (out of band management). So, yes. You will need the SFPs to connect to the switch fabric. The service port does work that way...

After you connect the WLC to the network you will need to properly configure trunking, vlans etc ..

Does this help?