Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Users might experience few discrepancies in Search results. We are working on this on our side. We apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused.

Clean Air AP Detected Interferers

Just started getting into the CLEAN AIR  functionality after in stalling a bunch of 3500s and notice that I have alot of BLUETOOTH interferers, some active most inactive. I notice that they all have mac addesses beginning with 9c:fc:fc:00:. I can't find 9c:fc:fc as a vendor number. I'm new to this and wondering why these would all show the same vendor.            

Everyone's tags (5)
2 REPLIES
Cisco Employee

it didn't mention bluetooth in specifc since it doesn't pair up with the interferrer to get its original MAC address i would think WLC just generates MACs to identify them as unique.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps10315/products_tech_note09186a0080b4bdc1.shtml#pmac

Because an analog video device does not       have a MAC address or, in several cases, any other identifying digital tag an       algorithm had to be created to identify unique devices being reported from       multiple sources. A PMAC is calculated as part of the device classification and       included in the interference device record (IDR).

http://www.identityblog.com/?p=1131