Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Cisco 5508 management interface

Hello,

I'm trying to verify some behaviors I'm seeing with my 5508 controller setup and forgive me for missing anything obvious, I've zero experience with this hardware and clueless on the best practices. With that said... out of the box I ran through the AutoInstall process.

I gave my service port an IP address on my subnet, 10.10.8.0/24 vlan 100 and gave the management interface the ip address 10.10.30.5/24 vlan 130

From my host I can ping the management interace 10.10.30.5 and the interface gateway 10.10.30.1

I cannot connect to the controller via 10.10.30.5 either through the web GUI or telnet

I can connect to the controller via 10.10.8.200 both through the web interface and telnet

while connected to the service port, I can ping the management port IP but I cannot ping the 10.10.30.1 gateway.

We have attached two test 3502I AP's and they found the controller and pulled correct ip addresses, clients can authenticate and access network resources as well as the Internet so for the most part, things are working but it concerns me that the management interface can't ping its own gateway.

Keep in mind, I did no other configurations besides what got configured in the AutoInstall process. What should I look at to resolve?

Thanks!

Mike

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Hall of Fame Super Silver

Yes it should be done through the management ip address.  Remove the connection to the service port and I'm betting that everything will work correctly.  You are not able to ping because the service port is causeing you issues:)

-Scott
*** Please rate helpful posts ***
8 REPLIES

Re: Help with Cisco 5508 management interface

The service port is for out of band management and should not be connected to the network.  If connected tot he network, it should not have connectivity to the management interface of the wlc.