Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

NetStumbler Detected

Hello,

I am an IT/Networking student doing a work placement in IT Security. I've been asked to help out with a WiFi pilot project. They have implemented Cisco Prime NCS to monitor the network and are getting a lot of "NetStumbler Detected" alarms. I'm thinking that most, if not all, are false-positive.

How is this software deciding that these devices are running NetStumbler? The help file suggests that it's detecting anonymous association requests "using the NetStumbler tool." Could these alarms be triggered by ANY client station that is configured to search for open WiFi hotspots? Could this just be default behaviour of some smartphones or tablets?

The alarm description goes something like this:

"It has been determined that <MAC> [Channel: <#>, SSID: <list of various hotspots>] is potentially running NetStumbler.

Ironically, I'm actually running NetStumbler on a laptop right beside an AP and it hasn't been detected.

Also, what would be the difference between "NetStumbler Detected" and "NetStumbler Victim Detected?" I know that "Device Probing For Access Point" is supposed to be the new version of NetStumbler, but I haven't seen that alarm.

Thanks,

Andrew Kerr, CCNA

2 REPLIES

NetStumbler Detected

Andrew,

Take a look at this previous thread.

https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2069820

Steve

HTH, Steve ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Please remember to rate useful posts, and mark questions as answered

NetStumbler Detected