Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

signature definition

Hi everybody. I am new with cisco IPS. I would like to get a little help. Where can i find the definition and/or explanation about the different signatures? I mean, after I check the "Events" in the IPS and I see the matches, how can i know the meaning of the signatures?

Thanks

4 Replies 4

jreekers
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Damaso,

I'm not too sure how helpful this might be, but I think it's can get you started in the right track. Check this pdf file out:

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/732/Tech/security/intrusion/docs/ips.pdf

It discusses signatures in-depth, and should be useful to you.

If that doesn't answer your specific questions, you might want to post on the Security/IDS thread here:

http://forum.cisco.com/eforum/servlet/NetProf;jsessionid=3018F6D7EF871414A81989D03B3350DB.SJ2A?page=netprof&forum=Security&topic=Intrusion%20Prevention%20Systems/IDS&CommCmd=MB%3Fcmd%3Ddisplay_messages%26mode%3Dnew%26location%3D.ee6e1fc

And the folks there should be more helpful.

HTH,

-Joe

Damaso,

When we have asked for documentation of this part of the system, it has been acknowledged by Cisco that this is still very poorly documented. It is my understanding that this is being worked on.

However, in the mean time, you may want to "upload" the Signature file from your WLC. This is a text file that is fairly well-documented and you will find some helpful information regarding the values in the Wireless IDS signature file and what they do.

To download the file from your WLC:

Commands -> Upload File -> Select 'Signature file' from the dropdown and store the file where you like.

For your convenience, I have included the factory version of the IDS signature file.

In case you are thinking about making any changes to your Wireless IDS file, you may be interested in our experience: