cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

5505 Help please!

kevman100
Level 1
Level 1

I just bought a Cisco 5505 switch and i went to start configuring it and when i go to my terminal nothing comes up. The switch seems to post fine all the LEDs are green. But there is no configure process. This is my first time working with this type of switch. It has a WS-X5530 Supervisor Engine III. Could there be a problem with that and also the fron fan is not spinning on the power supply not a big deal just wondering any way to fix it. Any ideas would be helpfull. Thank you in advance.

Kevin

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

raarons
Level 1
Level 1

The switch seems to post fine

Does this mean you see output in Hyperterm during the post tests? Or are you just going by the LEDs?

If you get anything at all, please post to the forum.

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

pkhatri
Level 11
Level 11

Hi Kevin,

What terminal emulation software are you using ? Have you configured it for a 9600 baud rate, 8 data bits, no parity and 1 stop bit ?

Pls advise what you have tried so far..

Paresh

i am using Hyper terminal. And yes i have configured it to the setting you listed above.

Is is possiable for the engine to go bad and that is why it is not working? Any help would be great. Thank you very much.

Kevin

raarons
Level 1
Level 1

The switch seems to post fine

Does this mean you see output in Hyperterm during the post tests? Or are you just going by the LEDs?

If you get anything at all, please post to the forum.

there is no output i am just looking at the LEDS. They are all green and seem to be ok.

And you're sure the cable you're using is fine?

It isn't a rollover cable, is it?

It should be a straight-through RJ45 as per

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps679/prod_quick_installation_guide09186a008007eb11.html#xtocid21028