cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Connection between HP Virtual Connect FlexFabric 10Gb/24-port Module on a HP c7000 enclosure and a Cisco 3750 switch

peter-karichu
Level 1
Level 1

I'm trying to connect a HP c7000 blade enclosure with a Catalyst 3750 switch. The c7000 enclosure came with 2 HP Virtual Connect FlexFabric 10Gb/24-port Modules.

This is what i have:
Cisco side:
-cisco catalyst 3750 10/100 with four 1Gig SFP ports
-1 Cisco GLC-SX-MM 1000BASE-SX SFP
-LC to LC fibre patch cable

HP Side:
-2 virtual connect modules (though i understand the extra is for redundancy and therefore i'm just intending to connect 1 for now)
-2 HP 10Gbe SFPs

1. from my research, the virtual connect module works with fibre channel technology, I'm a bit new to blade servers and therefore haven't had experience in connecting such to networks. Though from my research, it seems the ideal connection for Virtual connects to the external network should be Cisco Nexus, brocade or some ideal Fibre channel switch. Only problem i have for now is that i dont have such a switch in my network and need to know whether i'll hav to buy, and which cisco model will do just for a basic network connection for the blade servers.

So this is what i've tried so far:
-I've tried to connect the c7000 enclosure to one of the 1Gig SFP ports on the 3750 switch using the items i've listed above though there is no link light from either the switch or the virtual connect. However, it's good i mention that i'm aware of the major differences here, i.e the 10gig speed from the HP side and the 1Gig speed from the cisco side.
-tried several switchport mode configs on the 3750 side for the 1gig sfp port but still no link.
So i just wanna find out, what should i try out? is this kind of connection possible? can it work out without an ideal Fibre channel switch?